The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Center on Peace and Liberty


    Director and Senior Fellow, Independent Institute

Senior Fellow

Research Fellows

    David Isenberg, Advisor, Straus Military Reform Project, Center for Defense Information

    Christopher Layne, University Distinguished Professor, George Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University

    Ian S. Lustick, Professor of Political Science and Director of Graduate Studies in the Political Science Department, University of Pennsylvania

    J. Victor Marshall, Research Fellow, The Independent Institute

    Edward A. Olsen, Professor Emeritus of National Security Affairs, Naval Postgraduate School

    Paul J. Sullivan, Distinguished Research Scholar in Economics, National Defense University

    Eric R. Taylor, Marvin & Warren Boudreaux Professor of Chemistry, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

    Charlotte Twight, Professor of Economics, Boise State University

Board of Advisors

    Lee J. Alston, Ostrom Chair and Professor of Economics and Director of the Vincent and Elinor Ostrom Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis at Indiana University; Research Associate, National Bureau of Economic Research

    Andrew J. Bacevich, Professor and Director, Center for International Relations, Boston University

    Barton J. Bernstein, Professor of History, Stanford University

    Richard K. Betts, Leo A. Shifrin Professor of Political Science and Director, Institute of War and Peace Studies, Columbia University; Adjunct Senior Fellow, National Security Studies, Council on Foreign Relations

    Bruce G. Blair, Research Scholar, Program on Science and Global Security, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affair, Princeton University

    Carl Conetta, Director, Project on Defense Alternatives, Commonwealth Institute

    David Cortright, Director of Policy Studies, Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies, Keough School of Global Affairs, University of Notre Dame

    Justus D. Doenecke, Professor Emeritus of History, New College of Florida

    Charles W. Freeman, Jr., President Emeritus, Mideast Policy Council; former Ambassador to Saudi Arabia; former Assistant Secretary for International Security Affairs, U.S. Department of Defense

    Lloyd C. Gardner, Charles and Mary Beard Professor Emeritus of History, Rutgers University

    Eugene Gholz, Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Notre Dame

    William D. Hartung, Director, Arms and Security Project, Center for International Policy

    John D. Isaacs, Senior Fellow, Council for a Livable World

    Lawrence J. Korb, Senior Fellow, American Progress; former Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Defense

    Michael Krepon, Co-Founder, Henry L. Stimson Center

    Donald L. Losman, Professor of Economics, Industrial College of the Armed Forces, National Defense University

    Allen J. Matusow, William Gaines Twyman Professor of History and Academic Affairs Director, James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy, Rice University

    John J. Mearsheimer, R. Wendell Harrison Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science and Co-director, Program on International Security Policy, University of Chicago

    Janne E. Nolan, Chair of Nuclear Security Working Group and Research Professor, Elliott School of International Affairs, Georgetown University

    Edward A. Olsen, Professor Emeritus of National Security Affairs, Naval Postgraduate School

    Edward L. Peck, former Ambassador to Mauritania and Chief of Mission to Iraq; former Executive Secretary, American Academy of Diplomacy

    Daryl G. Press, Associate Professor of Government, Dartmouth College

    Leo P. Ribuffo, Society of the Cincinnati George Washington Distinguished Professor of History, George Washington University

    Hugh T. Rockoff, Professor of Economics, Rutgers University

    Bruce M. Russett, Dean Acheson Professor Emeritus of International Relations, Yale University

    Harvey M. Sapolsky, Director of the Security Studies Program and Professor of Public Policy and Organization, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Susan Shaer, former Executive Director, Women’s Action for New Directions

    Melvin Small, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of History, Wayne State University

    Monica Duffy Toft, Director of the Center for Strategic Studies, Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless