The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Board of Advisors

Scott W. Atlas
Senior Advisor and host of “The Independent with Scott Atlas”

Leszek Balcerowicz
Professor of Economics, Department of International Comparative Studies, Warsaw School of Economics

Jonathan J. Bean
Professor of History, Southern Illinois University

Peter J. Boettke
University Professor of Economics and Philosophy, George Mason University

Boudewijn R. A. Bouckaert
Professor of Law, University of Ghent, Belgium

Allan C. Carlson
President Emeritus, Howard Center for Family, Religion and Society

G. Marcus Cole
Joseph A. Matson Dean, School of Law, University of Notre Dame

Robert D. Cooter
Herman F. Selvin Professor of Law, University of California, Berkeley

Robert W. Crandall
Senior Fellow, Economic Studies, Brookings Institution

Richard A. Epstein
Laurence A. Tisch Professor of Law, New York University

George F. Gilder
Senior Fellow, Discovery Institute

Steve H. Hanke
Professor of Applied Economics, Johns Hopkins University

Victor Davis Hanson
Martin and Illie Anderson Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University

James J. Heckman
Nobel Laureate in Economic Science, Henry Schultz Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago

Wendy Kaminer
Contributing Editor, The Atlantic Monthly; former Member, Board of Directors, American Civil Liberties Union

Lawrence A. Kudlow
former Director, National Economic Council, White House

John R. MacArthur
Publisher, Harper's Magazine

Deirdre N. McCloskey
Distinguished Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences, University of Illinois, Chicago

J. Huston McCulloch
Professor of Economics, Ohio State University

Thomas Gale Moore
Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University

June E. O’Neill
Professor of Economics and Finance and Director of the Center for the Study of Business & Government, Baruch College

James R. Otteson
John T. Ryan Jr. Professor of Business Ethics, University of Notre Dame

Thomas J. Peters III
Co-Author, In Search of Excellence: Lessons from America’s Best-Run Companies; Author, Liberation Management and A Passion for Excellence: The Leadership Difference

Charles E. Phelps
Provost Emeritus and Professor of Political Science and Economics, University of Rochester

Daniel N. Robinson
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Philosophy at Georgetown University; Faculty Fellow of Philosophy, Linacre College, Oxford University

Paul H. Rubin
Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Economics, Emory University

Bruce M. Russett
Dean Acheson Professor of International and Area Studies, Yale University; Editor, Journal of Conflict Resolution

Pascal Salin
Professor of Economics, Université Paris-Dauphine

Vernon L. Smith
Member of the Board of Advisors, Independent Institute; Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences; Professor of Economics and Law, the George L. Argyros Endowed Chair in Finance and Economics, and the Founding Director of the Economic Science Institute at Chapman University

Joel H. Spring
Professor Emeritus in the Urban Education Program, Queens College and the Graduate Center, City University of New York

John B. Taylor
Mary and Robert Raymond Professor of Economics, Stanford University

Richard E. Wagner
Hobart R. Hobart Professor of Economics, George Mason University

Paul H. Weaver
Former Washington Bureau Chief and Assistant Managing Editor, Fortune

Todd J. Zywicki
George Mason University Foundation Professor of Law in the Antonin Scalia School of Law

In Memoriam Board of Advisors

Stephen E. Ambrose
Professor of History Emeritus, University of New Orleans

Martin C. Anderson
Keith and Jan Hurlbut Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University

Herman Belz
Professor Emeritus of History, University of Maryland

Thomas Bethell
Columnist and Author, The Noblest Triumph: Property and Prosperity Through the Ages

Thomas E. Borcherding
Professor of Economics, Claremont Graduate University

M. E. Bradford
Professor of English, University of Dallas

Yale Brozen
Former Professor of Business Economics, Graduate School of Business, University of Chicago

James M. Buchanan, Jr.
Nobel Laureate in Economic Science; late Emeritus University Professor, Center for the Study of Public Choice, George Mason University

G. Robert A. Conquest
Senior Research Fellow and Scholar-Curator, Russian and Commonwealth of Independent States Collection, Hoover Institution, Stanford University

Arthur A. Ekirch, Jr.
Late Professor of History, University at Albany

A. Ernest Fitzgerald
Author, The High Priests of Waste and The Pentagonists: An Insider's View of Waste, Mismanagement and Fraud in Defense Spending

Nathan Glazer
University Professor of Education and Sociology Emeritus, Harvard University

Ronald Hamowy
Emeritus Professor of History, University of Alberta, Canada

Ronald Max Hartwell
Emeritus Professor of History, Oxford University, England

Jonathan Kwitny
Author, Endless Enemies and The Crimes of Patriots

Merton H. Miller
Nobel Laureate in Economic Science; Robert R. McCormick Distinguished Professor of Finance Emeritus, Graduate School of Business, University of Chicago

William A. Niskanen
Chairman Emeritus and Distinguished Senior Economist, Cato Institute; former Acting Chairman, President’s Council of Economics Advisers

Michael Novak
Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Arthur and Carlyse Ciocca Center for Principled Entrepreneurship, Tim and Steph Busch School of Business and Economics, Catholic University of America

P. J. O’Rourke
former Editor-in-Chief, American Consequences

Nathan Rosenberg
Fairleigh S. Dickinson, Jr. Professor of Public Policy Emeritus in the Department of Economics and Senior Fellow for the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research at Stanford University

Murray N. Rothbard
S. J. Hall Distinguished Professor of Economics, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Simon Rottenberg
Professor Emeritus of Economics, University of Massachusetts

Arthur Seldon
Founder-Director, Institute of Economic Affairs, London, England

Julian L. Simon
Professor of Business Administration, University of Maryland

William E. Simon
Former Secretary, U.S. Department of the Treasury

Rodney W. Stark
Distinguished University Professor of the Social Sciences, Baylor University

Richard L. Stroup
Emeritus Professor of Economics, North Carolina State University; Professor of Economics, Montana State University

Thomas S. Szasz
Professor of Psychiatry Emeritus, Health Science Center, State University of New York, Syracuse

Robert D. Tollison
J. Wilson Newman Professor of Economics and BB&T Senior Fellow at Clemson University

Arnold S. Trebach
Professor of Law, American University

William Tucker

Gordon Tullock
University Professor of Law and Economics and Distinguished Research Fellow, George Mason University

Gore Vidal
National Book Award-Winner, Playwright, Screenwriter, and Author of the “American Chronicle” Series of Historical Novels

Alan Walters
Vice Chairman, AIG Trading Company

Aaron B. Wildavsky
Class of 1940 Professor of Political Science and Public Policy, University of California, Berkeley

Walter E. Williams
John M. Olin Professor of Economics, George Mason University

Charles Wolf, Jr.
Senior Economist and Corporate Fellow, International Economics, RAND Corporation

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless