The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Dinner to Honor Sir John Marks Templeton
Thursday, October 1, 1998

Honorary Co-Chairmen: Duke of Abercorn, Patriarch Bartholomew, Jimmy Carter, Lord Coggan, Gerald R. Ford, Jr., Lord Howe, Václav Klaus, The Dalai Lama, Duke of Richmond and Gordon, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, Lady Margaret Thatcher, Archbishop Desmond M. Tutu, and Elie Wiesel.

Co-Chairmen: Howard L. Clark, Jr., Charles W. Durham, Stanley Hiller, Jr., Charles B. Johnson, Henry L. Kotkins, C. Richard Kramlich, Peter S. Lynch, Anthony J. F. O'Reilly, Philip J. Quigley, Louis Rukeyser, S. Bradford Rymer, Jr., and William E. Simon.


The Independent Institute will honor the world-acclaimed global investment pioneer, free-market entrepreneur, business leader, humanitarian, author, educator, and philanthropist, Sir John Mark Templeton, at a gala dinner event on Thursday, October 1, 1998, at the Fairmont Hotel, in San Francisco, California. Sir John is also the founder of Templeton College of Management at Oxford and was decorated Knight Order of the British Empire in 1987.

Said David J. Theroux, founder and president of the Independent Institute, "Sir John Templeton exemplifies the finest qualities of leadership, entrepreneurship, personal integrity, and business excellence." Templeton has been renowned for fifty years as the pioneer of global investment in founding and managing over thirty funds. In 1972, he created the annual Templeton Prize to recognize frontier thinking in religion and science. Recipients have included Mother Teresa, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, Pandurang Shastri, physicist Paul Davies, and in 1998, Sir Sigmund Sternberg. Sir John has also received honorary doctoral degrees from dozens of colleges and universities. A founding member of the International Society of Financial Analysts, Sir John is past President of the Chief Executives Organization and a member of the Wall $treet Week Hall of Fame.

The Institute's gala dinner is held every few years to present the Alexis de Tocqueville Memorial Award, which spotlights the achievements and work of the honoree. Tickets and tables of ten are available.

More About the Featured Speakers

Louis Rukeyser Sir John M. Templeton on Wall $treet Week With Louis Rukeyser
Václav Klaus Former Prime Minister, Czech Republic
President, Chamber of Deputies, Parliament of the Czech Republic
John L. Schroeder Former President, Templeton, Dobbrow & Vance, Inc.
Former President, Young President’s Organization
Michael J. Boskin Former Chairman, President’s Council of Economic Advisors
Tully M. Friedman Professor of Economics, Stanford University
Charles H. Townes Nobel Laureate and Templeton Laureate, Department of Physics, University of California
Robert W. Galvin Chairman, Executive Committee, Motorola Corporation
George F. Gilder Author of Wealth and Poverty, The Spirit of Enterprise, and Telecosm
President, Gilder Technology Group

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless