Elliott D. Bloom: The Independent Institute

The Power of Independent Thinking

Elliott D. Bloom
Elliott D. Bloom

Elliott D. Bloom is Professor Emeritus at the Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology in the Stanford Linear Accelerator Laboratory (SLAC) and a Fellow of the American Physical Society. He was a member of the SLAC team with Jerome I. Friedman, Henry W. Kendall and Richard E. Taylor who received the 1990 Nobel Prize in Physics. He received his Ph.D. in physics from the California Institute of Technology.

The recipient of the Senior Scientist Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Dr. Bloom has been Co-Investigator and Member of the Fermi-LAT Collaboration; Member of Senior Scientist Advisory Committee, Fermi-LAT Collaboration; DOE PI on Gamma Ray Large Area Space Telescope (GLAST) R&D Phase; Member of the NASA GLAST Mission Science Working Group, GLAST; and Co-Investigator and SLAC Spokesman, Unconventional Stellar Aspect (USA) X-Ray Experiment.

His many scientific articles have been published in Astronomy & Astrophysics, Astrophysical Journal, Astrophysical Journal Supplement, Astrophysical Journal Letters, Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis, Physical Review Letters, Physical Review Research, and Physics Reports.