Gordon Tullock: The Independent Institute

The Power of Independent Thinking

Gordon Tullock
Search for anything by or about Gordon Tullock
Gordon Tullock

Gordon Tullock (1922–2014) was a Research Fellow at the Independent Institute and University Professor of Law and Economics and Distinguished Research Fellow at George Mason University, holding a joint teaching position in the Department of Economics and the School of Law. Professor Tullock received a J.D. from the University of Chicago in 1947. He received an Honorary Doctorate of Laws from the University of Chicago in 1992.

Following periods of employment as an attorney at law and in the U.S. Department of State, Professor Tullock taught at the University of South Carolina, University of Virginia, Rice University, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, George Mason University and University of Arizona. In 1966, Professor Tullock became the Founding Editor of the Journal of Non-Market Decision Making (later renamed Public Choice). He remained Senior Editor of Public Choice until May 1990. In 1968 (together with Charles Goetz) he established the Center for Studies in Public Choice (renamed the Center for Study of Public Choice in 1969).

Professor Tullock is author of twenty-three books and several hundred articles in economics, public choice, law and economics, bio-economics and foreign affairs. He is best known for such works as The Calculus of Consent (with James M. Buchanan), The Logic of the Law, The Politics of Bureaucracy, The Social Dilemma, Autocracy, The Economics of Non-Human Societies, Rent Seeking and On Voting. Professor Tullock's 1967 article entitled: “The Welfare Costs of Tariffs, Monopolies and Theft” is a widely cited classic that has generated a major ongoing research program in the political economy of rent seeking.

Professor Tullock has served as president of the Public Choice Society, the European Public Choice Society, the Southern Economic Association and the Western Economic Association. In 1998, Professor Tullock was honored as Distinguished Fellow of the American Economic Association.

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless
  • MyGovCost.org
  • FDAReview.org
  • OnPower.org
  • elindependent.org