The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

The Sir John M. Templeton Fellowships Essay Contest

Created in 1974, the Olive W. Garvey Fellowships were offered biennially from 1982 until 2007. Since 2008 the contest has been sponsored by the John Templeton Foundation and is now annual. For information about the 2010 Templeton Fellowships Essay Contest, please click here.

2009 Templeton Fellowship Winners

Essay Topic

“Only a virtuous people are capable of freedom. As nations become corrupt and vicious, they have more need of masters.”—Benjamin Franklin

 Which virtues contribute the most toward achieving freedom, and how can the institutions of civil society encourage the exercise of those virtues?

Junior Faculty Member Winners

Student Winners


    Jonathan Bean, Professor of History, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
    Roderick Long, Associate Professor of Philosophy, Auburn University
    Benjamin Powell, Assistant Professor of Economics, Suffolk University

The 2009 contest drew applicants from Australia, Bangladesh, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Italy, Montenegro, Nepal, New Zealand, Nigeria, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, South Africa, Spain, Tanzania, United Kingdom, United States, and Uruguay.

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless