The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Fellowships Essay Contest

Created in 1974 , the Olive W. Garvey Fellowships were offered biennially from 1982 until 2007. Since 2008 the contest has been sponsored by the John Templeton Foundation and is now annual.

2005 Garvey Fellowship Winners

Essay Topic

    “The great aim of the struggle for liberty has been equality before the law.”
    —F.A. Hayek, Nobel Laureate in Economics

Junior Faculty Member Winners

Student Winners


    Thomas J. DiLorenzo (Professor of Economics, Loyola College in Maryland)
    Gerald Gunderson (Professor of Economics, Trinity College)
    Fred Foldvary (Professor of Economics, Santa Clara University)

This year’s contest drew 345 applicants from 46 U.S. states, 37 countries, and 5 continents. The applicants’ countries included Bangladesh, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, Ethiopia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Russia, Rwanda, Slovakia, South Africa, Uganda, United Kingdom, Uruguay, United States, and Zimbabwe.

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless