The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Fellowships Essay Contest

Created in 1974 , the Olive W. Garvey Fellowships were offered biennially from 1982 until 2007. Since 2008 the contest has been sponsored by the John Templeton Foundation and is now annual.

2003 Garvey Fellowship Winners

Essay Topic

    “The progress of freedom depends more upon the maintenance of peace and the spread of commerce and the diffusion of education than upon the labor of Cabinets or Foreign Offices.” —Richard Cobden (1804–1865)

Junior Faculty Member Winners

Student Winners


    Thomas J. DiLorenzo (Professor of Economics, Loyolla College in Maryland)
    Gerald Gunderson (Professor of Economics, Trinity College)
    John C. Moorhouse (Professor of Economics, Wake Forest University)

The 2002-2003 contest winning essays were selected from over 350 essays submitted from 27 countries on six continents, including Argentina, China, Ghana, India, Israel, Spain and Turkey.

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless