The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Fellowships Essay Contest

Created in 1974 , the Olive W. Garvey Fellowships were offered biennially from 1982 until 2007. Since 2008 the contest has been sponsored by the John Templeton Foundation and is now annual.

2001 Garvey Fellowship Winners

Essay Topic

    “Does the new economy require a free economy?”

Winning Essays


    Bryan Caplan (Professor of Economics, George Mason University)
    Stephen E. Margolis (Head, Department of Economics, North Carolina State University)
    Alexander Tabarrok (Research Director, The Independent Institute)

The 2000-2001 contest, which benefited from the assistance of more than 2,500 college professors, resulted in submissions from college students in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland and the Slovak Republic.

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless