The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Fellowships Essay Contest

Created in 1974 , the Olive W. Garvey Fellowships were offered biennially from 1982 until 2007. Since 2008 the contest has been sponsored by the John Templeton Foundation and is now annual.

2000 Garvey Fellowship Winners

Essay Topic

    “Free trade is the wellspring of peace.”

Winning Essays


    Thomas J. DiLorenzo (Professor of Economics, Loyola College of Maryland)
    Lowell Gallaway (Professor of Economics, Ohio University)
    Dr. Alex Tabarrok, Research Director (The Independent Institute)

The 1999-2000 contest, which benefited from the assistance of more than 2,500 college professors, resulted in submissions from college students in the United States, Canada, England, Hungary, Bulgaria, Russia, Romania, Italy, France, Argentina, Australia, Japan, and South Korea.

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless