The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Fellowships Essay Contest

Created in 1974 , the Olive W. Garvey Fellowships were offered biennially from 1982 until 2007. Since 2008 the contest has been sponsored by the John Templeton Foundation and is now annual.

1998 Garvey Fellowship Winners

Essay Topic

    “Private property is the most important guaranty of freedom.”

Winning Essays

    First Prize
    David Upham (Department of Politics, University of Dallas)
    Second Prize
    Jason Baldwin (Department of English, Wheaton College)
    Third Prize
    Jean-Philippe Feldman (School of Law, University of Paris)

    Glen Whitman (Department of Economics, New York University)


    Thomas J. DiLorenzo (Professor of Economics, Loyola College of Maryland)
    Gerald Gunderson (Professor of Economics, Trinity College)
    John Moorhouse (Professor of Economics, Wake Forest University)

The First and Second-place winning essays were also published in the February, 1998 issue of The Freeman.

The program also involved more than 2,500 college professors, with entry essays received from students at colleges around the world, including Russia, the Slovac Republic, France, Ghana, England, Albania, Germany, and Hungary; as well as from students at colleges and universities across the United States.

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless