The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Fellowships Essay Contest

Created in 1974 , the Olive W. Garvey Fellowships were offered biennially from 1982 until 2007. Since 2008 the contest has been sponsored by the John Templeton Foundation and is now annual.

1996 Garvey Fellowship Winners

Essay Topic
    “The Road to Prosperity and Human Welfare: Free Markets or Government Controls?”

Winning Essays

    First Prize
    Bryan Caplan (Department of Economics, Princeton University)
    Second Prize
    Jeffry Duffy (Department of Economics, London School of Economics)
    Third Prize
    Michael Huemer (Department of Philosophy, Rutgers University)


    Gerald Gunderson (Professor of Economics, Trinity College)
    Daniel Klein (Professor of Economics, University of California, Irvine)
    John Morehouse (Professor of Economics, Wake Forest University)

The winning essays were published in the January, 1996 issue of The Freeman.

The program also involved more than 2,500 college professors, with entry essays received from students at colleges around the world, including Slovakia, Poland, Italy, France, Great Britain, Romania and Nigeria. The judges were so impressed with the quality of the entries that the Institute has expanded the awards to include Honorable Mention recipients whose essays the Institute is also publishing in various journals.

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless