The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Fellowships Essay Contest

Created in 1974 , the Olive W. Garvey Fellowships were offered biennially from 1982 until 2007. Since 2008 the contest has been sponsored by the John Templeton Foundation and is now annual.

1974-1992 Garvey Fellowship Winners

1991-1992 Garvey Fellowship Winners:
    Topic: “Markets in the Post-Cold War Era: Controlled or Free?”

    First Prize:
    Steven Hayward, Claremont Graduate School
    Second Prize: Amy L. Sherman, University of Virginia
    Third Prize: Hardy Bouillon, University of Trier, Germany
1989-1990 Garvey Fellowship Winners:
    Topic: “Prospects for Liberty in the Post-Socialist International Economy”

    First Prize
    Susan Marie Szasz, Syracuse University
    Second Prize: Steven Hayward, Claremont Graduate School
    Third Prize: Penelope J. Brook, CS First Boston, Wellington, New Zealand
    Honorable Mention: Ira Katz, Duke University
1987-1988 Garvey Fellowship Winners:
    Topic: “Toward an Open World Order”

    First Prize: Peter Moser, Schweizerisches Institut fuer Aussenwirtachaft, Switzerland
    Second Prize: Matthias Otte
    Third Prize: Willis C. Jenson
1985-1986 Garvey Fellowship Winners:
    Topic: “The Economics and Philosophy of Liberty”

    First Prize: Mark D. LaRochelle, State University of New York, Stonybrook
    Second Prize: David Tucker, Hardy University
    Third Prize: Thomas Hazlett, University of California, Davis
1983-1984 Garvey Fellowship Winners:
    Topic: “The Road to Serfdom, Forty Years Later”

    First Prize: Hannes H. Gissuararson, Pembroke College, Oxford University, England
    Second Prize: Thomas J. DiLorenzo, George Mason University
    Third Prize: Gregory B. Christainsen, California State University, Hayward
1982 Garvey Fellowship Winners:
    Topic: ”The Virtues of the Free Economy”

    First Prize: William Anderson, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
    Second Prize: James B. Beckwith, Jr., North Carolina Central University
    Third Prize: Robert Miller
1974 Garvey Fellows:
    Topic: “The Moral Imperative of the American Private Enterprise System of Risks and Rewards”

    Prizes (tied):
    Alan C. Stockman, University of Rochester
    David Kelley, Princeton University
    Roger E. Michener, Princeton University
    John H. Beck, Gonzaga University
    Roy A. Childs, Jr., Center for Libertarian Studies
    John B. Egger, Towson State University
    Verna E. F. Harrison, Princeton University
    Karl Keating, Princeton University
    Walter J. Wessels, North Carolina State University

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless