Two Independent Institute Books Win 2009 'IPPY' Awards from Independent Publisher Magazine: News Releases: The Independent Institute

The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

News Release
May 18, 2009

Two Independent Institute Books Win 2009 “IPPY” Awards from Independent Publisher Magazine

OAKLAND, Calif., May 18, 2009—On Friday, Independent Publisher announced the winners of the 2009 “IPPY” Awards, honoring the year’s best independently published books. Competing against more than 3,000 entries in 85 categories, two Independent Institute publications received top awards.

Released in August 2008, Good Money: Birmingham Button Makers, the Royal Mint, and the Beginnings of Modern Coinage, 1775–1821 by Research Fellow and economist George Selgin, tied for the Bronze Medal in the category of Finance/Investment/ Economics. Especially timely during the global financial crisis, Good Money was reviewed in Choice magazine and Selgin appeared in the Wall Street Journal. The late Nobel Laureate Milton Friedman called the book “splendid” and Richard Doty, Numismatics Curator at the Smithsonian Institution, noted that, “Selgin’s understanding of eighteenth-century economic theory and practice is absolute, allowing him to write with verve and clarity.”

In the category of Science, Twilight War: The Folly of U.S. Space Dominance by Research Fellow Mike Moore was awarded the Silver Medal. Formerly the editor of the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists, Moore has written articles on nuclear proliferation for the San Francisco Chronicle and other major newspapers, and Twilight War was reviewed by International Affairs, Political Science Quarterly, Issues in Science and Technology, Futurist, Space Times, Journal of Economic Literature, and Nonproliferation Review. Published in January 2008, the book has been featured several times on C-SPAN’s Book TV.

More from Independent Publisher: The “IPPY” Awards were conceived as a broad-based, unaffiliated awards program open to all members of the independent publishing industry, and are open to authors and publishers worldwide who produce books written in English and intended for the North American market. Participating publishers are “independent” as 1) independently owned and operated; 2) operated by a foundation or university; or 3) long-time independents that became incorporated but operate autonomously and publish fewer than 50 titles a year.

For the full list of recipients, please see:

# # #

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless