The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

National Dinner to Honor Robert A. Conquest
Tuesday, July 7, 1992

Fairmont Hotel, San Francisco, California

“Conquest’s work will be read for generations, but its value is especially great for readers living now, as the empire that Stalin built comes crashing into dust and rubble.”

“Few living writers in the West are as knowledgeable about the history of the Soviet Union as Robert Conquest and few bring to the subject a literary sensibility that is a match for his.”
The Wall Street Journal

“Robert Conquest is the hero of this hour.”
The Times

“For more tha 20 years Robert Conquest’s monumental work on Stalin’s terror has had a key place in the long and painful process in which truth has been set against evil.”
The Telegraph

Honorary Co-Chairmen
Gerald R. Ford, Richard M. Nixon, Ronald W. Reagan, Margaret Thatcher

A. W. Clausen, Gerald S. Gidwitz, Preston Marton

G. Robert A. Conquest
Senior Research Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University; Member of the Editorial Board of The Independent Review; Author of V. I. Lenin, Reflections on a Ravaged Century, The Great Terror: A Reassessment, Harvest of Sorrows: Soviet Collectivization and the Terror-Famine, Stalin: Breaker of Nations, Stalin and the Kirov Murder, and many other books.
Elena Bonner
(Mrs. Andrei Sakharov) Founder of the Andrei Sakharov Foundation and the Sakharov Archives in Moscow, Russia
Preston Martin
Former Vice Chairman of the Federal Reserve System; Former Chairman and Chief Operating Officer of the Federal Home Loan Bank Board; Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of WestFed Holdings
Czeslaw Milosz
Nobel Prize Laureate in Literature; Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures at the University of California, Berkeley; Author of The Captive Mind
John O’Sullivan, CBE
Editor of National Review and Special Adviser to former Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher
David J. Theroux
Founder and President of the Independent Institute and Publisher of The Independent Review: A Journal of Political Economy
Aaron B. Wildavsky
Class of 1940 Professor of Political Science and Public Policy and Founding Dean of the Graduate School of Public Policy at the University of California Berkeley
Hongda Harry Wu
Founder and Director of the Laogai Research Foundation; Author of Laogai: The Chinese Gulag

  • Catalyst
  • Beyond Homeless