Freeman J. Dyson: The Independent Institute

The Power of Independent Thinking


Stay Connected
Get the latest updates straight to your inbox.

Freeman J. Dyson

Freeman J. Dyson, FRS is Professor Emeritus of Physics in the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton and a member of the Board of Advisors for the Center on Culture and Civil Society at the Independent Institute. He helped to design the TRIGA reactor and Orion spaceship, and his most widely known contribution to science was the unification of the three versions of quantum electrodynamics invented by Feynman, Schwinger and Tomonaga. He is noted for his work on nuclear reactors, solid state physics, ferromagnetism, astrophysics and biology, looking for problems where elegant mathematics could be usefully applied.

Professor Dyson has been a Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge University; Research Fellow, University of Birmingham; Professor of Physics, Cornell University; Chairman, Federation of American Scientists; Visiting Professor, Yeshiva University; Visiting Professor, Max-Planck-Institute for Physics and Astrophysics; Montgomery Fellow, Dartmouth College; Rydell Professor, Gustavus Adolphus College; President, Space Studies Institute; and Member, National Academy of Sciences Committee on Next Generation Biowarfare Threats.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society, Member of the National Academy of Sciences, Member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences, Member of National Research Council Commission on Life Sciences, Honorary Fellow of Trinity College, Associé Etranger de l'Académie des Sciences, Britannica Award, Matteucci Medal by the Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze dei Quaranta, Oersted Medal by the American Association of Physics Teachers in San Antonio, Honorary Member of the London Mathematical Society, and Member of NASA Advisory Council.

Professor Dyson is the recipient of the Templeton Prize for Progress in Religion, Danny Heineman Prize by the American Institute of Physics, Lorentz Medal of the Royal Netherlands Academy, Hughes Medal of the Royal Society, Max Planck Medal of the German Physical Society, J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Prize from the Center for Theoretical Studies, Harvey Prize by the Technion, Wolf Prize in physics by the Wolf Foundation, National Books Critics Circle Award for Non-Fiction, Gemant Award from the American Institute of Physics, Phi Beta Kappa Award in Science, Wright Prize by Harvey Mudd College, Enrico Fermi Award given by U.S. Department of Energy, Lewis Thomas Prize by Rockefeller University, Antonio Feltrinelli International Prize by the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Telluride Tech Festival Award of Technology, and Joseph P. Burton Award by the American Physical Society forum on Physics and Society.

He is the author of the books, Disturbing the Universe; Weapons and Hope; Origins of Life; Infinite in All Directions; From Eros to Gaia; Imagined Worlds; and The Sun, the Genome and the Internet.

  • Catalyst