Print Window   
The Independent Institute


This page lists authors who have written or contributed to our books, policy reports, or working papers. The list may not include authors who have contributed to The Independent Review.

In Memoriam Authors

  • Peter H. Aranson
    Professor of Economics, Emory University
  • Thomas E. Borcherding
    Professor of Economics, Claremont Graduate University
  • Martin Bronfenbrenner
    Professor of Economics, Emory University
  • Yale Brozen
    Former Professor of Business Economics, Graduate School of Business, University of Chicago
  • James M. Buchanan Jr.
    Nobel Laureate in Economic Science; late Emeritus University Professor, Center for the Study of Public Choice, George Mason University
  • Arthur A. Ekirch, Jr.
    Late Professor of History, University at Albany
  • Antony G. N. Flew
    Late Professor Emeritus of Philosophy, University of Reading, England
  • Elizabeth Fox-Genovese
    Late Eleanore Raoul Professor of Humanities, Emory University
  • Joseph Fuhrig
    Professor of Economics and Finance, Golden Gate University
  • Ronald Hamowy
    Emeritus Professor of History, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Irving Louis Horowitz
  • M. Bruce Johnson
    Founding Research Director, The Independent Institute; Professor of Economics, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Don C. Lavoie
    David H. and Charles G. Koch Chair of Economics, Program on Social and Organizational Learning, George Mason University
  • Merton H. Miller
    Nobel Laureate in Economic Science; Robert R. McCormick Distinguished Professor of Finance Emeritus, Graduate School of Business, University of Chicago
  • William C. Mitchell
    Emeritus Professor of Political Science, University of Oregon
  • William A. Niskanen
    Chairman Emeritus and Distinguished Senior Economist, Cato Institute; former Acting Chairman, President’s Council of Economics Advisers
  • Carl A. Pescosolido, Jr.
    President, Sequoia Enterprises
  • William Ratliff
    Research Fellow and Curator of the Americas Collection at the Hoover Institution
  • Murray N. Rothbard
    S. J. Hall Distinguished Professor of Economics, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Charles K. Rowley
  • Anna J. Schwartz
  • Bernard H. Siegan
    Distinguished Professor of Law at the University of San Diego
  • Robert J. Staaf
    Professor of Law and Economics, Clemson University
  • Thomas S. Szasz
    Professor of Psychiatry Emeritus, Health Science Center, State University of New York, Syracuse
  • Joan Kennedy Taylor
    Author and Journalist
  • Gordon Tullock
    University Professor of Law and Economics and Distinguished Research Fellow, George Mason University
  • John T. Wenders
    Professor of Economics, University of Idaho
  • Edwin G. West
    Professor Emeritus of Economics, Carleton University, Canada
  • Aaron B. Wildavsky
    Class of 1940 Professor of Political Science and Public Policy, University of California, Berkeley
  • Marvin E. Wolfgang
    Late Director, Sellin Center for Studies in Criminology and Criminal Law, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania